“The time has come,” the walrus said, “to talk of many things…”

Philosophical thoughts on life, the universe, and everything.

Waiting for College December 15, 2007

Filed under: Life — ithewalrus @ 10:36 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I am a senior in high school, and I’ve been accepted to Taylor University, which is officially the best place in the world. Most of the people I really care about are either at Taylor this year or will be at Taylor next year. Right now, I’m kind of in limbo.  I want to be done with high school and moved on to college, but I can’t.  At the same time, I don’t want to lose contact with all my high school friends.  It’s annoying. Also I’m applying for a scholarship that means a full ride to any college in my state which would be wonderful…but I don’t know if I’ll get it.  But it would be really helpful for my parents so that they can pay. ALSO, I’m going to go to the local university, where my mom is a professor, and take summer classes there…but I’m not sure whether or not it’ll mess up my acceptance to Taylor…it’s slightly messy at the moment.  But the plus about the local university is that 12 credit hours are only $874 which is ridiculously cheap.  That doesn’t include textbooks or anything but STILL! So, I have many decisions to make.  Fun! In other news, it’s snowing, and I just came back from the Keller Competition concert, and my sister is now in love with the pianist who played. 

 

5 Responses to “Waiting for College”

  1. cheesetype57 Says:

    How could taking some summer classes mess up acceptance at any school? The only problem I could see is if you took those classes from your mom. And even that one’s a bit shaky.

  2. Jessie Says:

    idk, I don’t know much about that kind of thing, haha. I had to apply to Purdue as a freshman so I might have to reapply to Taylor as a transfer student.

    I did email their admissions though, so I should be hearing back sometime after new years’.

  3. ekudner Says:

    Hi Jessie. My name is Elizabeth Kudner and I am helping to start a company called myUsearch, an unbiased online resource dedicated to objectively matching students to schools and providing fair and accurate college enrollment information. We will be launching our site in February 2008. To enhance our service, we will be featuring a blog that allows students to report on their college experience and help new students make informed choices about choosing a college and degree program, paying for college and engaging in campus activities.

    We found your blog on wordpress and would love to invite you to be a guest blogger on our site. If you are interested, please email me at ekudner@myusearch.com.

    Sincerely,

    Elizabeth Kudner

  4. lpkalal Says:

    I know a great student at Taylor you should connect with when you go. Email for info.

  5. music Says:

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader


Leave a Reply

